Cheesecake

I am known for my cheesecake.  Whenever we go to pitch-ins with family or friends, I usually always am asked to bring a cheesecake.  The funny thing is that it is sooo simple to make, yet most people think it’s much harder to do than it is!  I remember when I was a kid, my mom made the BEST cheesecake!  It was an arduous process, making that delicious dessert, and it was a wonderful, rich, delectable treat…all of us thoroughly enjoyed that cheesecake.  Fast forward years later, I went off to college and joined a sorority.  There was a time when we were having a luncheon and we wanted a nice dessert to serve.  Everyone wanted cheesecake, but it was just too expensive to buy and would take our whole budget.  So, I volunteered to make it.  I had watched my mom make hers and I had no doubt I could do it.  Unfortunately, I could not find some of the ingredients necessary for my mom’s delicious cheesecake, so I went with the recipe on the box-it was simple and used easy to find (and cheap) ingredients, and I was on a tight budget and a tight schedule.  Well, everyone loved the cheesecake I made and ever since then that has been my signature dish.  I have not deviated from that simple cheesecake recipe from the box, although it’s usually not printed on them any more.  Also, most of the time I am super lazy and buy a ready-made graham cracker crust, cause that’s how I roll.  I have made my own before, it’s usually just not as good, and I try to stick to things that are both easy and good.  This recipe comes from here.

Kraft Philadelphia Three Step Cheesecake Recipe

2 pkg. 8 oz. cream cheese, softened

1/2 c. sugar

1/2 tsp. vanilla

2 eggs

Pre- or home-made graham cracker crust

Heat oven to 325 degrees.   Beat cream cheese, sugar and vanilla with electric mixer.  Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well between each.  Pour into crust and bake 40 min. or until center is almost set. Cool to room temperature, then chill in refrigerator for 3 hrs. or overnight.  You can top with cherries or blueberries, or eat it plain.  It is delicious either way.

I’ll save you my horrible kitchen photos and provide a stock photo from Kraft.  You’re welcome!

Happy Thanksgiving!

 

5 thoughts on “Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

