Diary of an Unfit Mom or Monkey Bread For All!

I have to admit that I am not the best mom in the world.  I have days that I’d rather not get out of bed and I have been known to yell and I NEVER make breakfast for my kids on a weekday.  I’ll make yummy breakfasts on the weekends and on holidays and I make fabulous breakfast-for-dinner quite regularly.  But on any Monday through Friday they usually have a quick bowl of cold cereal, or a granola bar or pop-tart (I KNOW!  Horrible, right?!) on the way out the door, or breakfast at school.  Well, today, I decided that I was going to surprise them with one of their favorites on a Monday morning…SO… I made individual monkey bread muffins for everyone!  Yummy!!  All of the work was done the night before so I just had to pop them in the oven while we were getting ready.  Well, I feel like I’ve redeemed myself somewhat, although I do feel rather guilty about getting them all hopped up on sugar and then sending them off to school…oh, wait, no I don’t!

Monkey Bread

1 loaf frozen bread dough, thawed

1/4 c. melted butter

1/2 c. brown sugar

1/4 c. granulated sugar

1 Tbsp. cinnamon

Mix the sugars and cinnamon together in a bowl.  Cut bread dough into 12 pieces, then cut each one into 4 smaller pieces.  Dip bread in butter, roll in cinnamon sugar and put in a well greased bundt pan or muffin tin (you can sprinkle with any leftover cinnamon sugar if you like).  If you are using a muffin tin, put 4 pieces in each muffin cup.

Cover with cling wrap and let rise overnight.  The next morning, cook for 30-35 minutes (for bundt) or 15-20 minutes (for muffins) in a 350 degree oven.

Drizzle with Sugar Glaze (1 cup powdered sugar and 1-2 Tbsp. milk; mix until smooth).

Delicious!

Leave a Reply

