Snickerdoodles

I think I’ve mentioned a time or twenty that I am in love with chocolate chip cookies.  My husband, not so much.  He’d prefer white chocolate macadamia nut any day.  I, however,  disagree with nuts in cookies.  But, we both agree that Snickerdoodles are pretty fantastic!!  I generally only make them once or twice a year, because let’s face it, if I am going to make cookies, they are going to be chocolate chip!!  But this past weekend was our anniversary so I made him a batch and I think he appreciated it!!  I used this recipe from the Betty Crocker website.  I am not sure if you’ve visited the Betty Crocker website yet or not, but I highly recommend it if you haven’t.  It is a fabulous website full of recipes (not just cookies and cakes, either, though there are plenty of those!), coupons and cooking tips-and they have an iPhone app as well.  They also have this neat Meal Finder that allows you to type in ingredients you have on hand and it will help you find a recipe to cook using them.  Here is the recipe I used….  *(Warning-they are delicious!)*

Betty Crocker Snickerdoodle Cookies

1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
1/2 cup shortening
2 eggs
2 3/4 cups Gold Medal® all-purpose or unbleached flour
2 teaspoons cream of tartar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • Heat oven to 400ºF.
  • Mix 1 1/2 cups sugar, the butter, shortening and eggs in large bowl. Stir in flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt.
  • Shape dough into 1 1/4-inch balls. Mix 1/4 cup sugar and the cinnamon. Roll balls in cinnamon-sugar mixture. Place 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet.
  • Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until set. Remove from cookie sheet to wire rack.
One thought on “Snickerdoodles

Leave a Reply

