Garden Pot Makeover!

I am not crafty, or creative, or artistically inclined in any way…but that doesn’t stop me from trying sometimes!! Don’t get me wrong, I would love to be that person who can take pipe cleaner, duct tape and paperclips and make something fantastic out of them (besides just a pile of pipe cleaner, duct tape and paperclips!), but I am not. What I am is cheap thrifty; I am always on the lookout for a way to take what I already have and turn it into what I want without spending a lot of money. So, I decided to try my hand at a flower/planting related project since it is spring and gardening time.  I thought it would be great to take all of my old terra-cotta pots and transform them into a matching set for my patio! (These pots can also be picked up almost everywhere for pretty cheap, so even if you don’t have any sitting in your garage it won’t break the bank to go out and get some!)

You will need:

20120601-184323.jpg

  • Clean terra cotta pots
  • Fine sand paper
  • Damp cloth
  • Clear urethane sealer spray
  • Spray paint

20120601-184652.jpg

Lightly sand the pot with fine sandpaper to smooth out any bumps.

20120601-184807.jpg

Wipe dust off with a damp cloth and allow pot to dry.

20120601-184947.jpg

Spray the inside of the pot with the clear urethane sealer (do 2-3 coats, allowing it to dry in between each one). Spray paint the outside and top inside 2″ of the pot; apply 1-2 more coats, drying completely between coats. At this point you can get as creative as you want and decorate the exterior of the pots with paint, or leave them one color. Once you’ve determined that you are done painting, spray the whole pot with the urethane sealer spray to protect the paint (2-3 coats drying between each one). Let the pot sit for at least 2 days before planting in it.

20120601-185827.jpg

**You will need to clean all previously used terra-cotta pots in preparation for painting-here’s a link to a great page explaining how to do so: the-artistic-garden.com.

If you’re feeling creative, here are some ideas from Martha Stewart for other ways to dress up pots.

And here’s a great project you can do with your newly painted pots over at homestoriesatoz.com!

Leave a Reply

