Word to Your Mother.

With Mother’s Day just ending and Father’s Day coming up, I wanted to touch on how much I love my parents…  This is going to be pretty personal (and mushy), so if you don’t want to read it, you can skip it…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Growing up I always adored my mom; I wanted to be just like her in every way.  She was and is the strongest woman I know.  She walked away from an abusive marriage after 18 years and 5 kids, not knowing what the future would hold or how she would get there.  When she went on her first date with my dad (some would say “step-dad,” but, no, he is the only father I’ve ever known and has taken care of me my entire life-he is my DAD) she introduced us right off, deciding from the start that if we didn’t like him it wasn’t going to happen (in fact, she told him when he first asked her out that she had five kids in an effort to “scare him off”-but he just replied, “So?”).  We, of course, loved him-that big, tough looking guy with the tender heart and m&m’s in his pockets-and we eventually became a family.  Unfortunately I now live very far away from my family, and that is so hard.  I would love to give my mom a hug, or look at her face when I talk to her, or just hang out with her.  I’d love to bake cookies with my dad using his secret recipe, or go for a long walk with him or give him a huge hug.  I don’t get down to visit quite as much as I’d like due to the fact that we have older vehicles, many kids, and it being such a long drive.  (Last time we visited our van broke down on the way down, so we had to stop and get it fixed, then on the way back it wouldn’t shift so we ended up going 35 on the interstate the entire way home!!  That’s over a 9 hour trip when the car works right!!  We were honked at and flipped off a lot that trip, let me tell you!!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sometimes, in life, things happen that can pull the rug out from underneath you and make you feel like nothing is right anymore, and I am so thankful that I have my wonderful parents to rely on.  My parents have been there for me through everything.  If I need anything all I have to do is call.  I don’t know what I would ever do without them.  I just wish that I was better at letting them know how much I really love and appreciate them.  I know that I am not the perfect daughter, I’m not always nice enough, or grateful enough, or happy enough.  I know I’ve disappointed them and caused them pain.  I know that I haven’t shown them enough how much I love them.  It scares me to think that they aren’t going to be there forever; I am already 37, but I still need them so much.  I think we take for granted that our parents will always be around until one day they aren’t, and we wonder where the time went.  I wish I could go back and tell my 17-year-old self to stop being such a brat-instead of going out with your friends on Friday night, sit back and enjoy these wonderful people who take care of you because one day you’ll wish you had.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Word to Your Mother.

  1. I don’t believe your parents do much internetting, so I’ll just state the obvious on their behalf; ALL teenagers are difficult and I’m sure you were no exception but there isn’t a parent on the planet who could deny that you are a smart, beautiful, talented, independent and caring daughter (and mother and wife)! 🙂

Leave a Reply

